#### 2007

### **PROGRAM**

MUSIC GMHS Symphonic Band

OPENING REMARKS

Mr. Robert W. Snee, Principal

### PRESENTATION OF PROGRAM AWARDS

## ENGLISH DEPARTMENT AWARDS PRESENTED BY MR. MICHAEL HOOVER

Outstanding Senior in the IB English Program: Margaret Lipman

Outstanding Senior in the CP English Program: Hunter Burkey, Graham Downey

Outstanding Contributor to The Nine Muses Literary Magazine: Ana Petillo, Nick Farstad

KK Bracken: Outstanding Feature Writing
Alex Prewitt: Outstanding Sports Reporting
Charlotte Volpe: Outstanding Reporting

Anna Duning: Outstanding Journalist of the Year

Margaret Lipman: Exceptional Journalistic Achievements for 4 Years

# VISUAL AND PERFORMING ARTS AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. MARY JO WEBSTER

**Excellence in IB Art: Sofia Belinskaya** 

Excellence in Art: Alyssia Pritchard

**Excellence in Photography: Jon McHugh, Caitlin Sickler** 

**Excellence in Technical Drawing: Mat Finein, Kit Thackery** 

**Excellence in the Study of Guitar Award: Elyse Krachman** 

National Choral Award: <u>Seth Ensign</u>

**Band:** 

Most Improved: <u>Emily Perry, Morgan Moscati, Taylor Demeter, Alison Grant,</u> Radina Dosseva, Taylor Robinson.

John Phillips Sousa Award: Rachel Taylor

**US Marine Corps "Semper Fidelis" Award: Elizabeth Fortenberry** 

Outstanding Senior Awards: <u>Charlotte Volpe, Nicholas Farstad</u> Drama:

Outstanding Contribution to the Theater Productions: Joseph Kendra, Janine Baumgardner, Sarah Van Buren

Outstanding Theater Students: <u>Louise Robertson, Juliana Hardesty, Peter Davis, KK Bracken, Jack Brorsen and Zach Emmons</u>

**Outstanding Contribution to the Stage Crew: Addison Blakemore** 

Most Enthusiastic in Film Studies: <u>Jonnie Horneman</u>

## CAREER & TECHNICAL EDUCATION AWARDS PRESENTED BY MR. KEN SIEKMAN

Outstanding ACC Students: Matthew Epling, Blanca Luizaga, Sabrina Whitney

## FOREIGN LANGUAGE AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. SUZANNE PLANAS

Outstanding Spanish non-native speaker: <u>Anna Duning</u> Outstanding Spanish native speaker: <u>Xavier Alarcon</u>

Outstanding French non-native speaker: <u>Elizabeth Fortenberry</u>

**Outstanding French native speaker: Eric Casteuble** 

**Outstanding ASL: William Chen** 

# SOCIAL STUDIES AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. LOUISA PORZEL

**Outstanding Students in Social Studies:** 

10<sup>th</sup> grade- Alexa Peyton

11<sup>th</sup> grade-Meredith Hamme

12<sup>th</sup> grade-Brittany Head

**Outstanding Model U.N.: Michael Costello** 

Virginia Declaration of Rights Award: Adam Gann

# MATH AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. JANET WEBER

Mathematics Dilgence Award: Emma Goetz, Irene Morrison-Moncure

**Mathematics Achievement Award: Elena Martinez** 

**GM Outstanding Computer Science Award: Graham Downey** 

American Mathematic Competition Participation and Distinction Certificate: Peter Breen, Adam Gann, David Maher

RENSSELAER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE MATH AND SCIENCE AWARD: <u>Peter Breen</u>

# SCIENCE AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. MAGGIE WISEMAN

**Outstanding Physical Science Student: Andrew Walden** 

Outstanding Biological Science Student: **Elena Martinez** 

BAUSCH AND LOMB HONORARY SCIENCE AWARD & SCHOLARSHIP: Yusof Becker

GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING AND APPLIED SCIENCE AWARD:

<u>Adam Gann</u>

## ESOL AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. GRACE RISSETTO

10<sup>th</sup> Grade Awards

Most Improved: Inez Sanchez (Bolivia); Sunny Kim (Korea)

Best Effort: Dristi Bhandari (Nepal); Thomas Kim (Korea); Alex Yoon (Korea)

**Outstanding: Christian Lopez-Flores (Peru)** 

11<sup>th</sup> Grade Awards

**Most Improved: Rajan Goyal (India)** 

Best Effort: Antonio Randrianasolo (Madagascar)

Outstanding: Michelle Kim (Korea); Melissa Tsui (Hong Kong)

12<sup>th</sup> Grade Awards

**Most Improved: Eunice Arce (Bolivia)** 

**Best Effort: Herberth Garcia (El Salvador)** 

**Outstanding: Cynthia Campero (Bolivia)** 

**George Mason University-**

**Early Identification Program Candidates** 

Malik Dahanayake, Ariel Gonzales, Andrea Guerra, Kevin Hartwig, Thomas Kim, Kahung Lai, Blanca Luizaga, Kevin Millard, Adela Mondragon, Anil Negi, Tracy Poon, Attaphon Sakprayoonpong, Jed Sakprayoonpong, Ricky Shaw, Mayra Terceros, Christian Trasmonte.

**Scholarship Recipients:** 

The Bailey Family Foundation Scholarship Recipients: Attaphon Sakprayoonpong and Blanca Luizaga.

### PRESENTATION BY MR. ROBERT SNEE, PRINCIPAL

MARIA ELENA NUDELL AWARD: Christine Finein

ABIGAIL KATHLEEN BURROUGHS AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING COMMUNITY SERVICE: Judah Chandler

J. ROGER and PATRICIA A. WOLLENBERG MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Emily Sabbatini

THE BETH AND NANCY SPRAGUE SPIRIT OF GEORGE MASON: Ben Zorn and Louise Robertson.

JESSICA BLAIR SZYMANSKI MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP:

Richard Schumann, Brittany Head and Adina Pollack.

# DANA WOOD MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP: <a href="https://doi.org/10.100/journal.com/">Christina Thackery</a>

THE SHEILA JONES MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP: <u>Juliana Hardesty</u>

FRANKLIN AND KENT THACKREY MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP:
Anna Duning

PAT DOYLE SCHOLARSHIP: Charlotte Volpe

PRESENTED BY MR. TIM GUY, ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL

FALLS CHURCH NEWS PRESS SCHOLARSHIP: Margaret Lipman

THE WOMAN'S CLUB OF FALLS CHURCH SCHOLARSHIP: Emily Sabbatini

THE LEAGUE OF WOMENS VOTERS OF FALLS CHURCH SCHOLARSHIP: Brittany Head

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN SCHOLARSHIP Virginia Tran and Emily Sabbatini

FALLS CHURCH DONALD S. FRADY MEMORIAL COMMUNITY SERVICE SCHOLARSHIP Judah Chandler

PRESENTED BY MS. MARY MCDOWELL, ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL

WILLIAM AND MARY LEADERSHIP AWARD: Peter Davis

DARTMOUTH COLLEGE BOOK AWARD: Yusof Becker

BRYN MAWR COLLEGE PRESIDENT'S BOOK AWARD:

### Soorya Namboodiri

## MOUNT HOLYOKE COLLEGE BOOK AWARD:

Hannah Baumgardner

### **SWARTHMORE COLLEGE BOOK AWARD:**

**Michael Costello** 

NATIONAL PAN-HELLENIC COUNCIL SCHOLASTIC ACHIEVEMENT AWARD in recognition of sustained academic excellence is presented to <u>AMARTEY ARMAR AND CATHERINE DUARTE</u>.

### PRESENTED BY DR. LOIS BERLIN, SUPERINTENDENT

### NATIONAL MERIT RECOGNIZED STUDENTS

Each year juniors take the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Tests. National Merit Certificates are awarded to students who take the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test and who have high qualifying test scores.

### NATIONAL MERIT FINALIST

7 members of the Class of 2007 have achieved the honor of being named National Merit Finalists. These students are Jason Benn, Elizabeth Fortenberry, Margaret Lipman, Matthew Peppe, Will Stewart, Elena Martinez and Brian Glover.

\*\*\* Elena Martinez and Brian Glover were both selected from over 1.4 million student applicants to receive the prestigious National Merit Scholarship.

### LETTERS OF COMMENDATION

9 members of the Class of 2007 have received Letters of Commendation recognizing them as National Merit Commended Students. These students are Kelly Casteel, John Langford, David Maher, Emir Parrotta, Francesca Sales, Rachel Taylor, Andrew Walden, Jesse Wilson and Irene Morrison-Moncure.

\*\*\* Irene Morrison-Moncure was selected to receive a National Achievement Scholarship.

### PRESENTED BY MR. ROBERT SNEE, PRINCIPAL

### **OUTSTANDING STUDENT AWARDS**

The following have been selected by the faculty as students who best represent the qualities they would most like to see in a George Mason student.

Outstanding Sophomore Girl Abigail Stroup

Outstanding Sophomore Boy Nicholas Zaccor

Outstanding Junior Girl Dana Cazan

Outstanding Junior Boy Adam Gann

Outstanding Senior Girl Anna Duning

Outstanding Senior Boy Will Stewart