2006

PROGRAM SCRIPT

Outstanding Senior in the IB English Program: Ryan Hinely and Emily Walden

Outstanding Senior in the CP English Program: Maggie Mullins, George Breeden and Jacob Carter

Outstanding Contributor to The Nine Muses Literary Magazine: Ryan Hinely

Outstanding Journalists for the student newspaper Lasso Online: Alex Holacheck and Margaret Lipman/ Margaret Lipman Silver Star Award for Journalism

Recognize Elena Martinez for Governor's School (Humanities)

VISUAL AND PERFORMING ARTS AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. MARY JO WEBSTER

Excellence in IB Art: Rebecca Engberg-Pederson, Addison Blakemore, Marta Savova, Laura Lin, Sofya Belinskaya

Excellence in Photography: Elizabeth Quillen, Margaret Jones, Kristie Legg, Hannah Nystrom

Excellence in Technical Drawing: Fritz Langford

Outstanding Contribution to Robotic Team 1418: Rachel Taylor, Bjorn Westergard and Fritz Langford

Excellence in the Study of Guitar Awards: Chris Walsh

Band:

Most Improved: Yusof Becker John Phillips Sousa Award: Christina Parsons

US Marine Corps "Semper Fidelis" Award: David DeLeon

Louis Armstrong Award: Charlie Himel

Four Year Band Letters: David DeLeon, Maggie Person, Christina Parson, Emily Walden

Three Year Band Letters: Charlie Himel, Ben Greenberg, Hunter Burkey, Holly McAlpin, Rachel Taylor, Alicia Hartstack, Charlotte Volpe, Elizabeth Fortenberry, Tiffany Huyser, Elena Martinez, Eliot Walker, Andrew Walden Two Year Band Letters: Vadym Onyshchenko, David Struble, Francisco Brady, Catherine Duarte, Andrew Breen, Adam Gann, Attaphon Sakprayoonong, Bailey Walton, Chelsea Brodst, Emily Perry, Jeff Williams, Jill Campanella-Dysart, Meredyth Duncan, Morgan Moscati, Ramsey Kincannon, Seth Ensign, Will Douthitt, Yusof Becker, Alex Prewitt, Sushmita Gordhandas

National School Choral Award: Adam Gann

Drama:

Outstanding Contribution to the Theater Productions: Isabelle Haazen, Katie Gordon, Andy Parker

Outstanding Theater Students: Joseph Kendra, Nicole Patierno, Peter Davis

Outstanding Contribution to the Stage Crew: Addison Blakemore, Kelly Casteel and David Maher

Film:

Most Enthusiastic in Film Studies: Neil Wright

Recognize Margaret Jones for Governor's School (Dance)

CAREER & TECHNICAL EDUCATION AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. ANN MCCARTY & MR. JOHN BALLOU

FOREIGN LANGUAGE AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. LINDA JOHNSEN

Outstanding French Student: Betsy Elliott

Outstanding Spanish Student: Bryan Collins

Recognize Governor School: Margaret Lipman (Spanish), Emily Saltzberg (French) and Tiffany Huyser (Japanese)

SOCIAL STUDIES AWARDS PRESENTED BY MR. MICHAEL MCNAMARA

Outstanding Students in Social Studies: Chelsea Caumont, Maya Cough-Schulze and Jill Maier

Outstanding Model U.N.: Sofia Misenheimer

Virginia Declaration of Rights Award: Brian Glover

MATH AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. JANET WEBER

Mathematics Dilgence Award: Justin Morrison Mathematics Achievement Award: Borna Alaeddini

GM Outstanding Computer Science Award: Kelly Casteel

RENSSELAER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE MATH AND SCIENCE AWARD This award recognizes the achievement of one of the strongest science and mathematics students in the junior class. This award goes to Elena Martinez.

SCIENCE AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. MARY McDOWELL

Outstanding Physical Science Students: Emily Walden and Emma O'Hara

Outstanding Biological Science Student: Ryan Hinely and Erik Dever

BAUSCH AND LOMB HONORARY SCIENCE AWARD & SCHOLARSHIP Kelly Casteel.

GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING AND APPLIED SCIENCE AWARD

This award goes to Andrew Walden.

*Recognize Soorya Namboodiri for Governor's School (Agriculture)

ESOL AWARDS PRESENTED BY MS. GRACE RISSETTO

10th Grade Awards

Most Improved: Iris Reyes

Best Effort: Michelle Kim

Outstanding: Daniel Engberg-Pedersen

11th Grade Awards

Most Improved: Eunice Arce

Best Effort: Cynthia Campero

Outstanding: Katerut Laothamatas

12th Grade Awards

Most Improved: Sylvia Randrianasolo

Best Effort: Valdis Kravalis

Outstanding: Borna Alaeddini

George Mason University-

Early Identification Program Candidates

10th Grade: Ariel Gonzales, Andrea Guerra, Anil Negi, Adela Mondragon, Tracy Poon, Mayra Terceros, Christian Trasmonte

11th Grade: Malik Dahanayaka, Kevin Hartwig, Kahung Lai, Blanca Luizaga, Attaphon Sakprayoonpong

12th Grade: Marco Almanza, Mubashir Kalhoro, Vadym Onyshchenko, Elizabeth Ortiz

Scholarship Recipients:

Ben Ramos: Bailey Family Foundation Scholarship Recipient Bonnie Shum: Wachovia-EIP Scholars Scholarship Recipient

MARIA ELENA NUDELL AWARD

This year's recipient is **Chelsea Caumont**.

ABIGAIL KATHLEEN BURROUGHS AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING COMMUNITY SERVICE

The recipient of this year's award is Emma O'Hara.

J. ROGER and PATRICIA A. WOLLENBERG MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

The recipient of the J. Roger and Patricia A. Wollenberg Memorial Scholarship is <u>Lauren Moore</u>.

THE BETH AND NANCY SPRAGUE SPIRIT OF GEORGE MASON AWARD

The recipients of this year's award are <u>Eric Brooks and Jakee</u> <u>Zaccor.</u>

JESSICA B. SZYMANSKI MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

This year's three recipients are <u>Christie Ankeney</u>, <u>Jessica Porzel and Kristin Schwind</u>.

DANA WOOD MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

This year's recipient is **Hayley Wood**.

THE FRANKLIN DAY SCHOLARSHIP

The recipient of the Franklin Day Memorial Scholarship is **Travis Greene.**

THE SHEILA JONES MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

This year the award goes to Alex Holachek.

FRANKLIN AND KENT THACKREY MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

The memorial scholarship given in memory of <u>Franklin and Kent Thackrey goes to Eamonn Rockwell.</u>

PAT DOYLE SCHOLARSHIP:

This year's recipient of the Pat Doyle Scholarship is <u>Justin</u> Morrison.

FALLS CHURCH NEWS PRESS SCHOLARSHIP Sarah Sullivan.

THE WOMAN'S CLUB OF FALLS CHURCH SCHOLARSHIP Emily Walden.

THE LEAGUE OF WOMENS VOTERS OF FALLS CHURCH SCHOLARSHIP Olivia Farrow.

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN SCHOLARSHIP This year's recipients are Laura Lin and Jessica Porzel.

FALLS CHURCH DONALD S. FRADY MEMORIAL COMMUNITY SERVICE SCHOLARSHIP

The year's recipient is Lauren Moore.

DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION - GOOD CITIZENSHIP AWARD Kristin Schwind.

DARTMOUTH COLLEGE BOOK AWARD Andrew Walden.

BRYN MAWR COLLEGE PRESIDENT'S BOOK AWARD Irene Morrison-Moncure.

MOUNT HOLYOKE COLLEGE BOOK AWARD This year's recipient is Catherine Duarte.

NATIONAL MERIT FINALIST

3 members of the Class of 2006 have achieved the honor of being named National Merit Finalists. The students are Ryan Hinely, Maya Cough-Schulze and Alex Holacheck.

LETTERS OF COMMENDATION

4 members of the Class of 2006 have received Letters of Commendation recognizing them as National Merit Commended Students. These students are Elizabeth Elliott, Jennifer Jenkins, Nicholas Pitas and Laura Shu.

OUTSTANDING STUDENT AWARDS

The following have been selected by the faculty as students who best represent the qualities they would most like to see in a George Mason student.

Outstanding Sophomore Girl Lydia Fairfax

Outstanding Sophomore Boy Adam Gann

Outstanding Junior Girl Anna Duning

Outstanding Junior Boy Ben Zorn

Outstanding Senior Girl Emily Walden

Outstanding Senior Boy Travis Greene